Fall Sangria

Lately I’ve seen dozens of “Fall Sangria” recipes floating about on Pinterest and I’ve been itching to give one a try. I love fall. I love sangria. I fail to see any drawback with the combination of the two.

As it turned out, my phone decided to throw a hissy fit at the grocery store and refused to connect to the internet, so I was unable to access any of the recipes I had saved. I have no idea what constitutes fall fruits, so I simply grabbed any fruits I thought might go together even moderately well. I guess that makes this a “Whatever Looks Good” kind of sangria. Luckily it’s pretty hard to mess it up. Just don’t be stupid and add something weird like cucumbers.

You Will Need

– 1 orange, cut into slices

– 1/2 pear, diced (I used a D’Anjou, but any moderate to sweet variety will do)

– 1/2 apple, diced

– 1 generous handful raspberries

– 1 small handful of cranberries, halved

– Appx. 6-8 cups of Sprite (depending on taste preference and size of serving pitcher)

– 1 bottle sweet red wine (I used Duplin Hatteras Red, which is a muscadine wine. Other good options include moscato or dessert wines.)

1) First channel your inner fruit ninja and slice up all your fruit.

(Note that the cranberries should be halved to allow the juice to seep out. I hadn’t quite gotten to that part yet.)

sangria1

2) Then pour your wine into a tall serving pitcher.

sangria2

sangria4

3) Next add your fruit, then top with Sprite. Stir gently.

sangria3

4) Allow the sangria to sit, refrigerated, for at least an hour or two. This will allow the flavors of the fruit to meld with the wine. The longer it sits the more fruity the flavor, so leave it alone for several hours if you can.

5) Serve chilled or over ice

sangria5

6) Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

