Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

pumpkin2

Confession time: I actually don’t really like Pumpkin Spice Lattes. There’s something slightly…I don’t know, artificial about them that always leaves me slightly disappointed.

When it comes to baking, though, call it pumpkin anything and I’ll try it. So when I saw pumpkin spice latte cupcakes on this blog I knew I had to try them.

The cupcake recipe is super straightforward. You even use a boxed cake mix as the base! The recipe also calls for 1/3 a cup of coffee. But of course I’d never let the rest of a perfectly good cup of coffee go to waste…

pumpkin6

pumpkin5

It’s a simple mix, pour, and bake kind of cupcake.

pumpkin4

While the cupcakes were baking I decided to go ahead and start on the frosting. This is where things began to go horribly wrong.

The recipe for the frosting seemed easy enough. I followed the directions exactly and started using my trusty old hand mixer to beat until it was light and fluffy. I mixed. And mixed. And mixed some more. Psycho was on while I was mixing and poor Marion had time to eat dinner with old Norman Bates, return to her room, and take her fateful final shower while I mixed on.

pumpkin3

The frosting just would not come together. I wound up having to add probably double the amount of powdered sugar called for before I finally got anything resembling a frosting consistency.

Even after all that the frosting was still very soft. I had to frost the cupcakes very carefully to avoid unnecessary running. I was very happy to find that after sitting for awhile (perhaps an hour) the frosting had set a bit, making its perch on top of the cupcakes a bit less precarious. And the frosting is good, with a creamy coffee taste that compliments the pumpkin quite well, so if you’re up for the challenge I highly recommend it. If not, a simple cream cheese frosting would go well and be much less troublesome.

At any rate, the cupcakes ARE delicious. I boxed them up to take to Thanksgiving dinner round 2! As an afterthought I topped the frosting with a little cinnamon sugar.

pumpkin1

I’m not very talented at frosting cupcakes. I have one method that I rarely deviate from, because every time I try something new I wind up with a concoction about as appealing as dog food. Here’s a quick video of my technique. Ignore the random sink shot at the end.

Leave a Reply

