Total Body Workout

I am currently writing this while lying prone on my yoga mat. Why? Because I just finished an absolutely killer workout and cannot find the energy to move.

Now, when it comes to motivation to exercise, I fluctuate wildly. Some weeks I find it in me to go for a run every single day and throw in several days of yoga practice for good measure. Other weeks my activity level rivals that of a koala. (FYI, koalas sleep between 18 and 20 hours a day.) I also have a tendency to focus too much on cardio and not enough on strength training.

That’s why I was so excited to discover PopSugar Fitness. This site has tons of quick but oh so effective workouts, ranging in focus from arms to legs to HIIT. I decided to combine three different 10 minute strength workouts and mix in some cardio intervals for 1 hour-ish total body workout. Now that I have a lot more free time (Hello, winter break!) I’m aiming to do this one 3 days a week.

You Will Need

-Yoga mat

-5 lb hand weights

-Water

-Optional: staircase or jump rope

The Workout

1. Start off with 5 minutes of intense cardio. My favorite is running up and down a flight of stairs as many times as I can. Jumping rope is another fantastic alternative. No stairs or jump rope? No problem! Mix jumping jacks, running in place, high knees, etc. for a no equipment cardio blast. Just make sure to get your heart rate up!

2. Follow this fantastic arm workout and feel the burn!

Arms

3. 5 minute cardio interval

4. Next up is this killer ab workout. In the interest of full disclosure, it took over a week of doing this before I could do ALL the reps in the sets. Maybe I’m just a weakling, but I like to think it’s just that intense!

Abs

5. 5 minute cardio interval

6. The  last strength section is a lower body/butt workout. I like this one a lot because it focuses on the back of your legs- glutes, hamstrings, etc. As a former frequent runner I have a lot of quad strength but often neglect the back side of my legs. Also, TIP: for the exercises that put a lot of pressure on your knees, double up your mat for extra cushioning. It makes it much easier to finish the set when your knees aren’t crying out in pain along with your muscles!

Lower Body

7. 5 minute cardio interval (last one!!)

8. The exercises listed so far will take right around 50 minutes to complete. I advise you tack another ten minutes onto the workout to allow for a minute or two of recovery when you need it and some gentle stretching at the end.

Don’t be surprised if you’re a little sore the next day. These workouts may seem easy at first glance but they are anything but.

After you’re done, feel free to indulge in a delicious (I swear it taste better than it looks!) green smoothie. There are dozens of recipes out there on the internet, but I’ll post mine later if anyone is interested!

greensmoothie

Leave a Reply

