Coffee cake muffins with my new mixer

I’ve always kind of loved Father of the Bride. It’s a cute, fun movie that I’ve seen probably a dozen times.

There is one scene, however, that never made sense to me. A distraught Annie (the bride) cries to her father that she just doesn’t know if she should marry her fiancé in light of the fact that he gave her a blender as a wedding gift.

“What is this, 1958? Give the little wife a blender?” she quips.

Now, aside from the fact that a blender is sort of a random thing to give your betrothed as a wedding gift, I’ve never quite understood why she was so upset over it. After all, blenders make milkshakes and smoothies. And, of course, I sometimes secretly wish I could be a 50’s housewife á la Lucy Ricardo. That may explain why I was so incredibly excited that my boyfriend got me a Kitchen Aid mixer for Christmas.

mixer3

mixer2

Isn’t it pretty? I was so excited to use it, so I decided to make coffee cake muffins for its maiden voyage. I was inspired by the wonderful recipe I found here on the blog Living Eventfully but I’ve made a few changes so I’ll outline the whole thing below. (Just know that the original recipe is not mine and I take no credit for developing it!)

For the Streusel Topping

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/4 cup of butter, softened and cut into small pieces

This is where I made the biggest changes to the original recipe. I made these muffins once before following the original recipe and found that I had a ton of the topping left over that I couldn’t figure out another use for so it went to waste. My version cuts down on the amount of leftovers significantly. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon simply because I’m kind of obsessed with pumpkin pie spice.

coffeecake1

Simply mix the dry ingredients together and then, as the original recipe puts it, “cut in the butter” until you have a large grain, coarse mixture. It also suggests using a pastry blender, but I don’t have one of those. (Yet!) So I used my knife to just kind push it all around until came together. Sorry if any pastry chefs are reading this and my technique (or lack thereof) is causing coronaries. Toss your mixture in the fridge for now.

For the Muffins

1/2 cup butter

1 3/4 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup sour cream

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp instant coffee dissolved in 2 tbsp warm water

Mix your dry ingredients (except sugar) together and set aside. Take your sour cream, vanilla, butter, sugar, eggs, and coffee and mix until well incorporated. Slowly add your dry ingredients, mixing until smooth.

coffeecake2

Now you take a greased or lined muffin pan and fill each space about half way. Then add 1 teaspoon of your streusel topping, add batter to fill and then top with another teaspoon of streusel. You should have just enough for 12 large muffins.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5 minutes or so before serving.

coffeecake4

These are a lovely brunch muffin. While the original recipe is wonderful, I do appreciate the results of my tweaking. I think the addition of the pumpkin pie spice and coffee gives them a slightly stronger flavor that is wonderfully seasonal. I find that they go best with a big glass of cold milk. Yum!

coffeecake5

5 thoughts on “Coffee cake muffins with my new mixer

Leave a Reply

