Workouts I’m Loving

Like many people, I made a goal at the start of the year to amp up my exercise routine. For the past few months I’ve been bored to tears with running, my former favorite exercise, and I didn’t really know what to do with myself. As a consequence I basically had the activity level of an elderly sloth. Or a lazy cat…

lazy

I know I feel SO MUCH BETTER when I get regular exercise though, so in addition to aiming to exercise 180 minutes a week I wanted to try some new workouts. The catch: they needed to be workouts that I could do from home. I know myself, and I know the second I have to drive to the gym for a workout it’s not going to happen. At least I recognize this shortcoming.

With a little Googling I had soon come up with over a dozen workouts that looked, dare I say it, almost fun. Over the past week or so I’ve tried out almost all of them. Some I loved. Some are probably what the Spartan army used for a warm up. Lucky for you, I’ve made a list of my top five favorites so you don’t have to die trying them all.

1. Ballet Body Sculpt 

I’ve always loved dancing, so this workout is quite enjoyable for me. The 30 minute session goes by quickly and is a good balance of effort and ease. The trainer, Jessica Smith, also has tons of other awesome workouts available on YouTube or through her site.

2. 30 Minute Abs & HIIT Cardio

I hesitated to list this as a “favorite” workout because, to be honest, I actually kind of hate it. It’s hard. And uncomfortable. But damn if it doesn’t get the job done. So I included it because it does give you an incredibly effective workout in 30 minutes. Fitness Blender’s YouTube page has dozens of other similar workouts if you need a different kind of torture.

3. 10 Minute HIIT Workout

Unlike Fitness Blender’s version, this HIIT workout from FitSugar doesn’t leave me wanting to die by the end of it. It’s intense, for sure, and will leave you sweaty, but the moves are easy to do (at least the first time) and it’s actually fun! And did I mention it’s only ten minutes?

4. 35 Minute Kick Butt Kickboxing

Ever have a day where you just really feel like punching someone? Try this awesome kickboxing workout instead! You’re less likely to be arrested and I promise you’ll feel better afterwards. It’s also a surprisingly killer upper body workout. This routine is another Jessica Smith…can you tell I’m a fan?

5. Renewing Power in Flow: Foot Balances

Some days I just don’t feel like working out, at least not in the traditional sense. That’s when I turn to yoga. I aim to do yoga at least once a week, at the site Do Yoga With Me is perfect for helping me with that goal. It has close to 100 different yoga videos for all levels of practice. I love this particular yoga practice because, like many people, I forget that balance is an important element of fitness. This hour long session leaves me feeling strong, powerful, and balanced.

Of course, there is one drawback to my exercising at home. It seems that Callie is inexplicably in love with my yoga mat. Sometimes she enjoys gleefully clawing it to shreds. Other times she’s content to form a cat loaf right in the middle of it. Do you know how hard kickboxing is when you’re trying to also avoid stepping on a fluffy ball of teeth and claws?

workoutkitty

2 thoughts on “Workouts I’m Loving

Leave a Reply

