10 Minute Flower Vases

I am so incredibly tired of winter. If it’s going to be this cold, I want snow.  I want so much snow that it becomes necessary for me to acquire a group of sled dogs. Sadly, the weather has teased me with just enough snow to get me excited, but not enough to actually be worth to bitter cold that must be endured to get it.

So now I am ready for Spring. I want bright colors, blue skies, and fresh flowers. Since Spring is at least three months away, I’ve had to get creative. These artificial flower vases add a lovely pop of color and will hopefully keep me going until April.

I got all of my supplies at Michaels (hello, 40% off coupon!)

You Will Need

-Artificial flowers in variety of colors

-Vases (mine came in a set of three, but you could use more or less depending on the size of the basket you plan to use)

-Decorative wire or wicker basket

flower9

Because I had three vases, I chose to use pink, yellow, and purple for my flowers. I got three different types for visual interest- I was going for a “I was skipping gleefully through a field of wildflowers and just happened to scoop these up” kind of vibe.

flower10I got these types in all three colors (the one in the middle is actually purple in real life) for between $1 and $2 each.

Here’s a hint: if you flowers have this plastic cuff on the stems, slide it off. It lets you get more creative with your groupings.

flower8

Now arrange your flowers in the vase. I used my beaded branches as the center and alternated the other flowers around it.

flower6

 

flower5

Repeat with the remaining colors and then put the vases in the basket. In 10 minutes you can make a pretty flower arraignment that’s almost as good as actual spring.

flower2

 

flower1

All together this project cost about $20. Not bad, but you could do it for even less if you have some old mason jars or similar that need repurposing.

Now, I’m off to huddle under my down comforter for the next few weeks. Someone remind me why humans don’t hibernate?! Wait, no cupcakes during hibernation…that’s why.

 

 

2 thoughts on “10 Minute Flower Vases

Leave a Reply

