Drink your greens

About a month ago I mentioned the green smoothies I make, and I had planned to post my recipe- if you can call something with only four ingredients a recipe. It slipped my mind until now, though. Mostly because during the holiday season I forgot that leafy greens even existed.

So, here’s the thing. I really hate vegetables. A lot. I imagine my feelings towards vegetable are not unlike the those of the Montagues towards the Capulets. It’s that dramatic.

But I haven’t been living under a rock for the past 21 years- I know how healthy vegetables are, and all that jazz. So I’ve worked out some ways to hide my veggies, so to speak. Veggie lasagna, veggie pizza, vegetable soup, that kind of thing. And this green smoothie.

Now, there are about a zillion variations for this recipe. So I encourage you to experiment to find the version you like best. Me? I’ll stick with this incredibly simple variation.

Ingredients

-2 heaping handfuls of spinach, rinsed well

-2 heaping spoonfuls of peanut butter

-1 cup of milk (or milk substitute of your choice)

-1 banana, sliced

Throw your ingredients in the blender and blend well. Pour, drink. How easy is that?

green5

 

green2

The banana towers are optional.

green4

I wasn’t kidding when I said a heaping spoonful. As a side note, I may hate vegetables but I love peanut butter. So much I buy it in bulk…

peanut butter 6I may have a problem. Just a small one.

Anyway…

It’s worth mentioning that I’ve heard a lot recently about the blending process destroying the vegetable’s nutrients. A quick Google search will leave you with conflicting information. Some experts believe that up to 80% of a vegetable’s nutrients can be lost in the blending process. Others say this is not the case and while some nutrients may be lost it is by no means the majority of them. My thoughts? I’m not an expert in the slightest, but I figure getting some leafy greens in my diet, even if they are missing some nutritional value, is better than getting none at all.

Cheers!
green1

 

 

Leave a Reply

