Monday Musings 1.27.14

Greetings, my dear cookies. So here’s the deal. I’ve been trying to write a review for a book I read almost two weeks ago, and it’s just not happening. Once upon a time, when I wrote for my high school’s newspaper, I could crank out book reviews like nobody’s business. Not that many people read them…but that’s beside the point.

But I just don’t do well writing long book reviews. I get entirely too excited when I start talking (or writing) books and have this overwhelming compulsion to start spewing every single detail and ultimately wind up spoiling the book in my overzealous desire to tell someone, anyone, about the awesome thing I just read. I can’t tell you how many conversations with my mother/boyfriend/aunt/random person stuck next to me in class go like this:

Me: “So, have you ever heard of Insert Awesome Book Title Here?”

Them: “Oh, yeah, I heard that was supposed to be good!”

Me: Sadly, because now I can’t tell them all about it without feeling guilty

“Does that mean you want to read it?”

Them: “Uh, yes?”

Me: “Oh.” Brightening

“Well, then I just have to tell you about this one part, don’t worry, I won’t spoil anything…”

And so on and so forth. Now, the obvious solution would be to just, you know, not write book reviews. But I can’t not tell you all about the books I’ve been reading! I love books, and I want everyone else in the world to find at least one book that they really love too. And if my sharing what I’ve been reading can help someone do that, then by jingo I’m going to! (Bonus points if you know what by jingo is from.)

So I’m going to try a new tactic, and this can also give me another way to share the other things floating around in my brain that I can’t quite work in anywhere else. I’m going to do a weekly series called Monday Musings, mainly because I enjoy being obnoxiously alliterative. It’ll go a little something like this:

Reading: I just finished Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. It’s the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and it is fantastic! Both books follow the adventures of a normal American teen, Jacob, in the months following his grandfather’s mysterious death. Jacob’s search for answers takes him to the children’s home on a tiny Welsh island. Once there, Jacob learns that he may not be so normal after all. The books feature vintage photographs throughout that help illustrate the plot. Some of the photos are just disturbing enough to give you a chill, while others are just…peculiar. Regardless, they add a unique touch to the books that helps create an unforgettable story.

If you haven’t read the first book, I highly suggest to you go get both at the same time. Because trust me, once you finish the first one you are going to be desperate to start the second. And lucky you, you won’t have to wait two years like I did. 

hollowcity

Source

Watching: Last week I watched the Discovery Channel mini series Klondike. The six episode series follows the adventures of two childhood friends as they journey to the Yukon to seek their fortune. I was really looking forward to this. It had several fairly big name actors (Richard Madden of Game of Thrones fame and Abbie Cornish, to name a few) and definitely had the potential to be a great show, but I was rather disappointed. There were a lot of random and rather unnecessary subplots, plot holes, and the all together baffling refusal of Richard Madden’s character to wear a hat.

And then there’s the ending. The ending was possibly one of the most depressing ones I’ve ever encountered outside of a Shakespearian tragedy. Just…a let down.

klondike

Source

Drooling Over: Summer dresses. Clearly I’m tired of winter, and Altar’d State is not helping. Some of my favorites below.

pinklace

Source

bluekim

Source

Oh, and these shoes.

endless-13_camel_copy

Source

My birthday’s in two and a half months…if anyone is in the mood to do some early shopping?

Inspired By:

eeyore

Source

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings 1.27.14

  1. I am ready to read; which dress do you like the most? and I think Eeyore has seen my flower garden! Oh and yes; the ending of Klondike sucked!

    • I think I like the pink one better, but the blue is more practical. And you have a lovely flower garden. It’s just a bit frozen at the moment.

Leave a Reply

