Pastel swirl cupcakes

I didn’t have to be at school for student teaching today thanks to the impending doom that is Winter Storm Pax. When, exactly, did we start naming winter storms? Also, are the weathermen in charge of this naming aware that pax means peace in Latin? Light snow is peaceful. Blizzards are not. And at this rate I’m not sure it actually will be a blizzard. Here’s a look at my front patio- the picture on the left is right when the first flurries arrived around noon. On the right is the snow accumulation as of 4 p.m.

calliesnow

Not much of a blizzard. I’m sort of disappointed.

Anyway, I decided I needed to make something sweet for the upcoming blizzard snow sneeze. I recently scored a Wilton decorating kit at a Habitat for Humanity ReStore for $25, so I decided to put it to good use and decorate some cupcakes.

Because I didn’t feel like baking a cake from scratch, I used a boxed yellow cake mix and made a few substitutions to jazz things up.

To Fancify a Boxed Cake 

-Replace the water with an equal amount of milk

-Instead of vegetable oil, use 1 stick of softened butter

-Add a teaspoon of vanilla extract

While the cupcakes were baking, I got started coloring my frosting (just plain ‘ole vanilla from a can). Since Valentine’s Day is coming up, I wanted to do a pink and white swirl frosting. The directions on my food coloring said to use six drops of pink to one drop of blue for a “raspberry pink,” so I went with that.

frosting mix

After quick mix left me with a very patriotic blend.

patriotic frosting

Note to self: remember this on the 4th of July. I kept mixing and wound up with a color that, while I wouldn’t call it raspberry, was a pretty pastel pink.

pinkfrosting

Now, for the swirl portion, I filled two plastic sandwich bags. One had the pink frosting, the other had white.

frostingbaggie

Here’s a hint: to make filling your frosting bags easier, stick them in a cup or glass and fold the edges over.

Next I cut of a corner off of each sandwich bag and slipped both baggies inside a regular decorating bag, already fitted with a decorating tip.swirl2

Then swirl on your frosting for a pretty, frozen yogurt like effect!

swirl

On that note, I’m going to sit in front of the fire, eat cupcakes, and grumble about how it just don’t snow like it used to. Because apparently cabin fever turns me into my grandmother.

3 thoughts on “Pastel swirl cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Black and White Cupcakes | Ginger In A Snap

Leave a Reply

