I can muse on a Tuesday, right?

Spring Break: I think for teachers (or even student teachers like myself. And probably also students.) Spring Break is kind of this weird time warp where calendar days and time don’t matter. This weekend I went to two movies that started past ten o’clock, went to sleep after 2 a.m., got less than seven hours of sleep (which is generally the kiss of death if it happens during the week) and wasn’t bothered in the slightest. My boyfriend theorizes that it has to do with waking up when you want to, not because you have to, that makes a difference, and I’m inclined to agree. Either that or Waffle House chocolate pie consumed after midnight has previously undiscovered energizing powers. That would be pretty cool.

Nyquil makes me stupid: I have a pretty awful cold right now so I took some Nyquil last night in the hopes that I would be able to sleep without suffocating. It worked, but apparently a little too well because I was very out of it. When my phone went off at 7:20 this morning I assumed it was my alarm. Never mind that I don’t have an alarm for 7:20 and certainly wouldn’t start one over Spring Break. Without looking I swiped the screen to turn it off. Some time later (probably only a minute at most, but it felt more like half an hour to my groggy brain) I looked over to see that it was actually a phone call that I had answered. Knowing that upon waking when I have a cold I speak like a snuffleupagus with a deviated septum, I was too embarrassed and confused to actually pick up the phone and start talking so I just kept punching the end call button like a crazy person until the line was finally disconnected.

But wait, it gets better.

The same number calls back a few minutes later (probably because they were at this point very confused) and I finally recognize the number. It was a school system calling about setting up an interview. So then I do what any normal, cold medicine addled person would do. I answer it AGAIN only to remember that I can barely speak. So I hung up. Again. And went back to sleep.

When I awoke some time later I gulped down a cup of hot tea so I could speak more coherently and called back. I explained what had happened, apologized profusely, and tried to give the overall impression that I was not actually insane or stupid. The woman was really very nice about it and told me not to worry. That may have been because she couldn’t actually understand what I was saying and just wanted to get me off the phone. But whatever.

ellen

Return to work: It doesn’t seem like that long ago that I was writing about how I would have more time to blog because I was in the off season of my part time waitressing job. But I start up again this weekend, though my schedule will be a little nuts until after graduation (which, by the way, is in 18 days, 1 hour, and 2 minutes. Approximately.) That means I plan to spend what’s left of my break doing a little crafting, cleaning, reading, job hunting, and enjoying any sunshine mother nature deems fit to through my way.

beautifullake

I’m not at the lake right now, but I so wish I was.

I hope everyone has a great day!

Leave a Reply

