Monday Musings 5.26.14

Holy cow, it’s already Memorial Day?! I’m in one of those weird, I have absolutely no idea what day of the week it is phases. Apparently today is Monday, but anyone with decent deadpanning skills could have convinced me it was Thursday and also July.

I’ve been a lazy blogger lately, mainly because I’ve been working a lot and spending the hours I’m not working re-watching House on Netflix. I have no apologies about this, and I mention it only to offer an explanation.

Earlier this week I also went through what was, to me at least, a very significant loss. Apache, my highly adored horse, passed away. Yes, he was over 30, so it wasn’t exactly unexpected, but it did come shortly after he disappeared from his pasture for 24 hours and thus was all quite a shock. The rascal spent almost 16 years with me, and before that he was my grandfather’s horse. He was smart and funny and spunky and I miss him a lot, but at the risk of launching myself back into full blown wallowing mode I’ll leave it at that. I just felt like I needed to mention it, and also share this picture of him. It’s one of my favorites.

ponylove

To lighten the mood, I’ll offer this funny anecdote from work today. Well, I thought it was funny anyway. Maybe you just had to be there.

A very nice and friendly woman was waiting on her lunch when she decided to try the cocktail special of the day, a strawberry lemonade with blueberry vodka. She apparently enjoyed it quite a lot because she ordered a second one.

“You know, I didn’t think I would like this, but I’m impressed! You can really taste the blueberry flavor in the vodka,” she told me.

“That’s good to know,” I replied. “I’ve never tried blueberry vodka.”

“Oh, honey, here! You have to try some!” she said, holding her glass out to me.

I explained, “Oh, no, I can’t. I’m on the clock,” feeling both awkward and slightly flattered at the same time.

“Well that’s no fun. You’re working so hard, you should at least get a drink,” was her reply. She also spent a surprising amount of time trying to guess my astrological sign and was very disappointed to learn I was not a Capricorn. Then she asked me how much I wanted for a tip. I resisted the urge to say, “Oh, $500 or so.”

I hope everyone had a wonderful Memorial Day and took a little time to give thanks for the men and women who have served our country. Your service is appreciated.

 

One thought on “Monday Musings 5.26.14

  1. Pingback: Horses…and lions | Ginger In A Snap

Leave a Reply

