Black and White Cupcakes

Am I the only person in the world who still uses Stumble Upon? I might be. Even though I’m as obsessed with Pinterest as the next 20-something teacher/wanna be baker-crafter-decorator, I also still waste hours on Stumble Upon. Also, did you catch the teacher part? I finally can officially announce that I have a teaching job for this fall! Yay! Let the “The First Day of School is a Month Away” panic ensue!

Anyway, I was looking for something to make to take to this yoga/potluck thing I’ve been invited to tonight and in my years of stumble upon archives I found a recipe that was really intriguing. Add ice cream to cake batter? Uh, don’t mind if I do! The recipe is incredibly easy: cake mix, three eggs, ice cream (do yourself a favor and use Haagen Dazs, though) and water. I used Duncan Hines’ Devils Food mix and Chocolate Haagen Dazs. And I just now realized I forgot to add the water- whoops! I still think they came out pretty well…what do you think?

fresh

cuppycakes

swirl

I used the frosting swirl method I outlined in this post. What can I say, I like my frosting to look like soft serve ice cream.

And I can definitely attest to the fact that the cake batter tasted good.

spoon licking

cakebowlSource

3 thoughts on “Black and White Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

