A world without writing

On Friday afternoons I work with a group of 5th graders for reading and writing. Today I had a video for them to watch on Discovery Education which has to be my new favorite teaching resource. It has tons of video clips on every topic imaginable for a variety of grade levels.

The clip I had them watch today was about the development of writing in ancient Mesopotamia. Afterwards they were working through a response journal. I had asked them to brainstorm some things the write down every day with the intention of getting them to think about how difficult life would be without a written language.

Being the uniquely minded kids that they are, though, this group started coming up with an elaborate system for getting by without writing. They were discussing different roles they would perform and who would be responsible for remember what information. We ran out of time for them to fully develop this plan, but as they left one student told me he was going to write about a world with no writing and how they survived over the weekend.

The irony of writing about not writing did not escape me, and though the lesson derailed a little from the track I had envisioned I was super excited to have my kids thinking creatively and outside of the box.

After school was over I ran around doing paperwork and trying to pencil in some IEP meetings before I realized I was at school at 4:45 on a Friday. So then I went home and this happened-

IMG_4037.JPG

I’m currently preparing to move to a new apartment, so posting may be a bit sparse for awhile. Just FYI, and Happy Weekend!!

2 thoughts on “A world without writing

Leave a Reply

