AMLE Conference in Nashville

I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to attend the AMLE (Association for Middle Level Education) Conference in Nashville this week. I traveled with a group of three other teachers from one of my schools to attend this national conference. It was, I should add, the first major conference I have ever gone to. It has certainly set the bar high for all other professional development opportunities I may have in the future.

For starters, the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Conference Center where the event was held is absolutely GORGEOUS. Not to mention massive. This place has over two thousand rooms, complete with dozens of restaurants, coffee shops, stores, jungles, and rivers.

No, I’m serious. This place is like its own little town. And it was decorated for Christmas, because apparently Tennessee no longer celebrates Thanksgiving.

IMG_4207.JPG

There are several huge atriums like this. I don’t know how many exactly, because it seems like every time we left the room we found a new one.

IMG_4229.JPG

IMG_4238.JPG

There where Christmas decorations suspended from the ceiling, wrapped around banisters, winding up stairs…

IMG_4222.JPG

IMG_4216-0.JPG

I’m also in love with the lights. I’d hate to see the power bill for this place, but they are beautiful!

IMG_4224.JPG

And…here are about nine billion more pictures, because I went a little picture crazy on this trip.

IMG_4236.JPG

IMG_4227.JPG

IMG_4235.JPG

IMG_4223.JPG

IMG_4230.JPG

IMG_4214.JPG

This conference was amazing. There were so many wonderful presenters and I feel so excited to start implementing the ideas and strategies I’ve learned about. I will be sure to blog about them and let you know how they work.

I have to say, though, as awesome as this experience has been, I am looking forward to getting home to see my family. And this fella.

IMG_4146-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

